Famous Personalities in Kerala

Adoor Gopalakrishnan

Adoor Gopalakrishnan Unnithan (b. Adoor, Pathanamthitta district, Kerala, South India, July 3, 1941) is an internationally known Indian film director. His films are made in the Malayalam language.

Apart from nine feature films, he has over 30 short films and documentaries to his credit. All the nine films he directed, from Swayamvaram to Nizhalkkuthu, were screened at many international film festivals and won him many national and international awards. The Helsinki Film Festival was the first film festival to have a retrospective of his films. He has headed the jury at the National Film Awards and many international film festivals.

Apart from his films, Adoor's major contribution towards introducing a new cinema culture in Kerala was the constitution of the first Film Society in Kerala, "Chalachitra." He also took active part in the constitution of "Chitralekha," Kerala's first Film Co-operative Society for film production. These movements triggered a fresh wave of good films, called "art films," by directors like G Aravindan, PA Becker, KG George, Pavithran, and Raveendran. At a time this movement was so strong that even the popular cinema had to make synthesis with art cinema to create a new genre of films.He is the inheritor of Satyajit Ray's legacy of filmmaking.

Adoor is an alumnus of the Film and Television Institute of India (FTII).

Adoor got Padma Sri Award
Dadasaheb Phalke Award - Lifetime Achievement Award in Film awarded by the Government of India (2005).
National Film Awards - various categories for Swayamvaram, Kodiyettam, Elippathayam, Anantharam, Mathilukal, Vidheyan, Kathapurushan and Nizhalkkuthu.
International Film Critics Prize (FIPRESCI) - won consecutively for five feature films.
London Film Festival - Sutherland Trophy - in 1982 for Elippathayam
British Film Institute Award - Most Original Imaginative Film of 1982 - Elipathayam
Padma Vibhushan - second highest civilian award from Government of India

Great Films
1972 - Swayamvaram (One's Own Choice) - Direction, story and script (with Kumaran)
1977 - Kodiyettam (Ascent) - Direction, story and script
1981 - Elippathayam (Rat Trap) - Direction, story and script
1984 - Mukhamukham (Face to Face) - Direction and script
1987 - Anantharam (Monologue)
1989 - Mathilukal (Walls)
1993 - Vidheyan (The Docile)
1995 - Kathapurushan (The Protagonist)
2000 - Kalamandalam Gopi (documentary)
2003 - Nizhalkkuthu (Shadow Kill)
2007 - Moonu Pennungal (Announced)

Malayalam Actors Gallery      Games Website Directory


  Prithvi Raj
Kunchacko boban




Sea Monster Hunter
Snow Game
Space Fighters
Christmas Game
Funny Football

Play Cricket

Kerala Portals

Movie Portals

Educational Websites

Malayalam Songs

Health Directory

Malayali  Pages

Kerala Government

Kerala Banks

Astrology   Free Numerology Test  Kerala  Writers in Kerala